Hong Kong Institution of Engineers Mechanical, Marine, Naval Architecture & Chemical Division

Minutes of the 44th Annual General Meeting – Session 2022/2023

The 44th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Mechanical, Marine, Naval Architecture & Chemical (MC) Division was held on <u>Thursday, 4 May, 2023 at</u> <u>Silverbox Ballroom, Level 1, Hotel ICON, 17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong.</u> The meeting commenced at <u>18:37hr</u> and was chaired by the Chairman of MC Division, Ir CHANG Fan, with over 46 Members of the Division attended, meeting the quorum requirement.

<u>1.</u> To Receive and Confirm the Minutes of the 43rd Annual General Meeting (AGM) for Session 2021/2022

Notice of the 44th AGM of the MC Division and the minutes of 43rd AGM of the MC Division were given to the members in accordance with the division rules of HKIE.

The minutes of the 43rd Annual General Meeting were confirmed without any amendment as proposed by Ir LEUNG Kwong Ho, Edmund and seconded by Ir LAI Kam Hung, Steven.

2. <u>To Receive Chairman's Report on the Activities of the Division for Session</u> 2022/2023

The Chairman, Ir CHANG Fan, delivered his annual report on the Division's activities held in the Session 2022/2023.

Ir Vincent HO proposed and Ir LUI Kam Leung, Stanley seconded the acceptance of the Chairman's Report that was unanimously agreed by members in presence.

3. <u>To Receive the Financial Statement of the Division for Session 2022/2023</u>

The Honorary Treasurer, Ir Dr TO Ching Nok, Catter, presented the Division's financial statement for the Session 2022/2023.

Ir TANG Sher Kin, Kelvin proposed and Ir TAM Chun Kit seconded the acceptance of the financial statement that was unanimously agreed by members in presence.

<u>4.</u> <u>To Elect the Chairman and Ordinary Members for Session 2023/2024</u> <u>Division Committee</u>

The Honorary Secretary, Ir LEUNG Yi Ning, Felicia, reported that the outgoing Division Committee has decided to nominate Ir TING Pong Yau, Fanny for election as the Chairman for Session 2023/2024. No other nominations were received before the deadline of the nomination.

The nominated Chairman was elected and accepted in the AGM, as proposed by Ir SZETO Ka Shing, Louis and seconded by Ir TAM Chun Kit.

The Honorary Secretary, Ir LEUNG, Yi Ning Felicia, reported that the outgoing Division Committee has decided to opt for the maximum of 14 Ordinary Members, and four (4) Ordinary Members - under Clause 7.2(c) of the Division Rules shall retire by the end of the session, namely Ir Fanny TING Pong Yau, Ir Ambrose CHEN Hao Ting, Ir Karen LEONG Ka Long and Ir Melvin WONG Chi Keung. Thus, there were four (4) vacancies for the Ordinary Members opened for election.

The following candidates for Ordinary members for session 2023/2024 Division Committee were nominated by the outgoing Division Committee:

Ordinary Members	:	Ir Melvin WONG Chi Keung
		Ir Dr Catter TO Ching Nok
		Ir Dicky POON Yat Fai
		Ir Ian FUNG Chun Yin

No other nominations were received before the deadline of the nomination.

The nominated Ordinary Members were elected and accepted in the AGM, as proposed by Ir CHAN Sze Yu, Furla and seconded by Ir CHEN Hao Ting, Ambrose.

The Honorary Secretary, Ir LEUNG, Yi Ning Felicia, reported that three (3) Ordinary Members - under Clause 7.2(d) of the Division Rules shall retire by the end of the session, namely Miss Christina PONG Yan Ting, Ir Brian YIP Wai Nam and Miss Lillian KWAN Ho Yu. Thus, there were three (3) vacancies for the Ordinary Members opened for election.

The following candidates for Ordinary members for session 2023/2024 Division Committee were nominated by the outgoing Division Committee:

Ordinary Members	:	Miss Lillian KWAN Ho Yu
-		Ir Brian YIP Wai Nam
		Ir Karen LEONG Ka Long

No other nominations were received before the deadline of the nomination.

The nominated Ordinary Members were elected and accepted in the AGM, as proposed by Ir CHEN Hao Ting, Ambrose and seconded by Ir LUI Kam Leung, Stanley.

5. To elect the Council Member (Division) for Sessions 2023/2024 and 2024/2025

The Honorary Secretary, Ir LEUNG Yi Ning, Felicia, reported that outgoing Division Committee has decided to nominate Ir CHENG Yeung Ming for election as Council Member (Division) for Sessions 2023/2024 and 2024/2025.

No other nomination has been received from members by the nomination deadline.

The nominated Council Member (Division) were elected and accepted in the AGM, as proposed by Ir TAM Chun Kit and seconded by Ir SZETO Ka Shing, Louis.

6. <u>New Chairperson's Address</u>

Ir TING Pong Yau, Fanny delivered her incoming Chairperson's Speech.

7. Any Other Business

Ir LEE Chi Hong, Barry and Prof. YUEN Ming Fai, Matthew proposed a vote of thanks and congratulations to the first lady chairman of MMNC Division, TING Pong Yau, Fanny.

Ir TING Pong Yau, Fanny proposed a vote of thanks to the Chairman, Ir CHANG Fan, and the Committee for their efforts and contributions in the Session 2022/2023.

The meeting was adjourned at 19:00hr.

Minutes Confirmed by

Prepared by

Ir CHANG Fan Chairman of MC Division Session 2022/2023 Ir Felicia LEUNG Yi Ning Honorary Secretary of MC Division Session 2022/2023